Books You Should Read

5th January 2016

-Please note this is a post transferred from my old blog so the date of publishing does not match the date of writing.-

Recently I came to the realisation that I hardly read ‘proper’ books anymore. I read far too many cringe-worthy wattpad novels and devour a ridiculous amount of magazines each month but all too often I go months without reading a paper book. Sometimes it’s nice to just turn off the screens, take a step back and curl up with a good book and cup of tea.

20160103990333896.jpg
Enter a caption

1. My current favourite – The Princess Bride – William Goldman
My absolute favourite book is The Princess Bride. My mum showed me the film when I was little and I absolutely loved it, so when I found it was based on a book I was instantly in love. I’ve read this book a ridiculous amount of times and it has a permanent place on my bedside table. It’s a fairy tale minus the clichés and makes me laugh out loud as I read it. I could go on for hours about this book but I’d probably bore you so I’ll just give you the description on the blurb: “a fairy tale like no other, of fencing, fighting, torture, poison, true love, hate, revenge, giants, hunters, bad men, good men, beautifulest ladies, snakes, spiders, beasts, chases, escapes, lies, truths, passion and miracles.”

2. My childhood favourite – Muddle Earth – Paul Stewart & Chris Riddell
You can tell that I loved this book growing up from the tattered cover and creased pages. Muddle Earth is a story of absolute ridiculousness, containing a sarcastic budgie, a failed wizard and a huggable ogre. Every line is filled with silliness and it’s a great book to read to children (or to read yourself if you’re looking for some childish humour).

3. The historical novel – Memoirs Of A Geisha – Arthur Golden
Although this book is a not a true story, it provides an amazing insight into the life of those living in Kyoto after WW2, and the culture of geisha in Japan. It is written so beautifully that you are transported into the book and empathise deeply with the main character, Sayuri. It follows her journey from being a poor girl in a fishing village to being a successful geisha. Elegant metaphors are used from the beginning to the end and I especially love the last line: “But now I know that our world is no more permanent than a wave rising on the ocean.  Whatever our struggles and triumphs, however we may suffer them, all too soon they bleed into wash, just like watery ink on paper”

4. The sciency book – The Third Chimpanzee – Jared Diamond
This book is a fascinating look into what divides humans from apes. I’m generally not a science person, and very rarely do I venture into the world of non-fiction but I love this book. It is written in simple terms without being condescending and childish and is interesting not only to science enthusiasts but to those interested in history, anthropology or psychology. It analyses and explains the history and importance of the things that we view as exclusively human such as having a complex language, creating art and taking drugs.

5. The inspirational book – I am Malala – Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb
I genuinely believe that everyone should read this book. Malala’s story is one of tragedy, courage and hope. I normally struggle to read biographies because I just can’t get engaged with them, but this book had me staying up into the early hours of the morning, unable to stop turning the pages. I have such a great deal of respect and admiration for Malala, she is an incredible role model who is the image of bravery, intelligence and most of all compassion. Her book provides an eye-opening insight into her life under Taliban rule, and how she refused to be silenced by fear.

Read a book you loved when you were a child, eat some vegetables, text/call someone you love. Take care of yourself x

Leave a Reply

