A Review of Nod by Adrian Barnes (but mostly a ramble about my rejuvinated love of reading)

I’ve been on a little bit of a reading hiatus lately. I’m not sure when it started but my love of books seemed to get crushed under the stress of exams and my lack of bookshop visits.
This hiatus ended, however, when I was tidying up my incredibly messy room and discovered a national book token gift voucher I’d completely forgotten I’d been given. My heart began to race, I got a spring in my step and I considered doing a celebratory dance – because if there’s something I love more than books, it’s getting a freebie.

So that Saturday, I hurried into town (when I say hurried I mean I got the very slow and very rickety bus into town) with my book token in tow and rushed into Waterstones. At once, my spirits were lifted and I felt an urge to twirl like a Disney Princess amongst all the books (but I restrained because I didn’t want to look like a tit in public). I wandered around aimlessly for a good 10 minutes before stopping in the sci-fi/fantasy section. I immediately ruled out half of the books because their covers were ugly (yeah yeah I know, I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but I want a pretty bookshelf).

Then I stumbled across Nod. The cover drew me in, with its creepy bloodshot eye cover art and intriguing name. The blurb interested me even more with its original, very creepy sounding plot. After some um-ing and ah-ing I took it to the till, made awkward conversation with the overly talkative sales assistant and tucked the book away in my bag.

Now, I shamefully admit that it sat on my bedside table for a good week before I read it. I’d forgotten how much joy a good book can bring and was busy binge watching Daredevil on Netflix. But one night, with a hot cup of Earl Grey I cosy-ed up in bed and turned to the first page.

From one paragraph in I was captivated, turning page after page as the plot unfolded. Nod is a story about a world where people can no longer sleep. As Vancouver descends into chaos due to most of its inhabitants being gripped by the insanity of sleep deprivation, you become unable to stop reading chapter after chapter. The book is so cleverly written, with a protagonist who is so incredibly human – he is flawed, at times being pretentious or unkind – but he is also caring and intelligent. This perfect balance within his character makes the story incredibly believable despite being so dystopian.

My only critique is that the book ended. I was left wanting more, I got to the end and thought “Is that it?” as I frantically flipped the pages looking for an epilogue or a preview of a sequel. Nod is a book that has returned to me my desire to read, I instantly went online and ordered more books, signed up for goodreads and wrote a (very) short story of my own. I’d recommend it to anyone looking for something different from the average young adult dystopian book – complete with predictable love triangle and an plot based around rebelling against ‘the system’.

Sadly, I can’t take any photos because as soon as I finished reading it I threw it at my friend for her to read it.

Re-read a book you love, get some sunshine, have a warm bath. Take care of yourself x

One thought on “A Review of Nod by Adrian Barnes (but mostly a ramble about my rejuvinated love of reading)

  1. Congratulations babe, welcome back to the world of the bibliophiles. Soon you’ll be like me, and end up with four bookcases, one teetering book pile and be on first name terms with the people at your local second-hand book store.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

