26/05/16

Dear Izzy,

You told me I should blog more and your wish is my command so here I am. However, I have nothing interesting or eloquent to write so all you’re getting is a breakdown of my thoughts from today.

 

Thought 1: My Maths Exam

Feeling pretty happy with the maths exam this morning, it will probably turn out that I’ve done awfully and am just completely deluded but at the minute I think it went alright. I was freaking out before it started because I’m an irresponsible idiot and didn’t revise but I knew (almost) everything that came up so crisis averted.

 

Thought 2: New words I’ve learnt today

Quagmire – “a soft boggy area of land that gives way underfoot OR a soft boggy area of land that gives way underfoot.” Example of usage: How do we emerge victorious from the quagmire? Leave the battlefield waving Betsy Ross’ flag higher?

Sonder – the realization that every passerby has a life as vivid and complex as your own. I get this all the time, especially when I’m looking out of the window on the bus and see people hurrying to work.

Moribund – “(of a person) at the point of death” aka, how I feel at the minute due to the continuous barrage of exams.

 

Thought 3: #SayNoToHYDRACap

I am very disappointed that in Captain America: Steve Rogers (2016) #1, writers (aka the actual demon that is Nick Spencer) decided to make a grand reveal that Captain America has been a HYDRA agent this whole time. Now, I know you’re not a huge superhero person so let me break it down for you. Captain America is the human embodiment of a labrador puppy. He fights for everything good and was originally created by two Jewish writers, Jack Kirby and Joe Simon. HYDRA is a neo-Nazi organisation. Captain America was originally written to oppose Nazism (he even punches Hitler in the face). So, it’s a huge deal that they’re turning a character written by 2 Jewish men into a neo-Nazi. Obviously.

 

Thought 4: I really like candles.

I’ve just got out of an hour long bubble bath, complete with candles and watching Master Of None on Netflix and I haven’t felt this relaxed for a really long time. My candle obsession is growing to new heights and I now have a cupboard full of jar candles and votives. But there are much worse things to be addicted to so I think I’ll be fine.

 

Thought 5: I really need to go revise English.

I don’t know any of the poems and have neglected revising them in favour of scrolling through tumblr, eating cake and playing Sims, because those are the kinds of responsible life decisions I make. I really need to do well in English Lit, seeing as I’m taking it next year. Oh dear.

 

Well, there is a roundup of my thoughts from today, you can’t complain that this was a waste of time for you to read because you pestered me into blogging something. Drink some water, read a book, remember that you’re smart and funny and pretty. Good night, good luck in your exam tomorrow, I’ll see you soon. x

 

 

9 thoughts on “26/05/16

  1. How did the English go? I did the same exam 🙂 seriously, I bet you did great. Also, your blog sounds amazing! Candles are great, right?

    Like

    1. I think the English went okay, thanks for asking 🙂 I was not excited went I opened the question paper and saw that the two named poems were the two I didn’t have notes on though! And yes, candles are the best, although I have far too many at the minute.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

