A ramble about ASMR

What is ASMR?

“Autonomous sensory meridian response (ASMR) is a euphoric experience characterized by a static-like or tingling sensation on the skin that typically begins on the scalp and moves down the back of the neck and upper spine, precipitating relaxation.”

In simple terms, ASMR is when you get tingles in your scalp and back, it could be from a head massage or listening to certain songs or any other ‘triggers’.

Why do people listen to ASMR?

Some people like to listen to ASMR because they are trying to trigger tingles, but lots of people are focused more on relaxation than having an ASMR response. ASMR videos tend to feature soft speaking, positive themes and smiley people. These videos can be a really helpful relaxation method for those who have insomnia, anxiety, or panic attacks.
As someone who personally has issues with anxiety and OCD, I listen to ASMR when I’m feeling stressed or restless, especially whilst trying to fall asleep, in order to focus on the sounds and words in the video instead of focusing on worries.

Some ASMR videos to try

Bob Ross

Bob Ross’ art tutorial show: The Joy Of Painting, has become a huge phenomenon, with hundreds of thousands of people watching the show on youtube and twitch. His incredibly calm manner and positive outlook makes for great relaxation (also his art is beautiful).

PenguinASMR

One of my go-to videos when I’m struggling to fall asleep is this one from PenguinASMR. His voice is so calming and it’s such a lovely story by Beatrix Potter.

SpringbokASMR

SpringbokASMR produces some of the most lovely, friendly ASMR videos (and they occasionally feature her cats so what’s not to love).

 

So there’s a little ramble about ASMR, I hope it helps any of you looking to relax or fall asleep, especially during this high stress time of exam season. Drink lots of water, get enough sleep, give someone a hug. Take care of yourself  x

2 thoughts on “A ramble about ASMR

  1. Hi there! I read this post recently (found your blog through Izzy at Thinking and Inking 🙂 ) and since then, I’ve been obsessed with ASMR. So I’m writing to say thank you 🙂 I often find it quite difficult to relax and fall asleep in the evenings, but ever since I started to listen to ASMR videos I manage to fall asleep quite easily. Thank you for this post, and for introducing me to the world of ASMR. I am now also a big fan of PenguinASMR’s Peter Rabbit video. It’s probably my most listened to ASMR vid!
    On a slightly different note, also just wanted to say that I really enjoy reading your posts 🙂 And sorry for this long and rambly message!

    Like

  2. Hi Zahia, I’m so glad that ASMR videos have helped you fall asleep, it’s such a nuisance when you just can’t doze off. I know the Peter Rabbit video you’re talking about, I love it as well.

    P.S No need to apologise, I love reading long rambly messages 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

