A Ramble About my Go-To Disney Films

With Moana being released in 4 days, I figured I’d get in the Disney spirit and create a roundup of a few of my all-time favourite Disney films.

Beauty and the Beast
I sadly admit that I never saw Beauty and the Beast in full when I was little, but when I finally watched it a few months ago it became an instant favourite. The only problem is now spend all my time with the Gaston song stuck in my head.

Princess and the Frog
As though jazzy 1920s New Orleans music isn’t enough, Tiana is ambitious and motivated and inspires me to stop procrastinating (for about five minutes). Also, Prince Naveen.

Lilo and Stitch
Confession time, I cried 3 times watching this film. 3 separate times. True, I am an emotional mess who can break into tears at almost anything, but this film was just so perfect. Nani looking out for her sister and Stitch finding a family is almost sweet enough to give you toothache.

The Emperor’s New Groove
This is one of those Disney films which people haven’t seen and they really should. Yes, the premise (an emperor getting turned into a llama) might be a little bizarre but that’s the beauty of it. This is the Disney equivalent of the “I’m so random”phase which 12 year olds go through, but it honestly works so well. It’s sarcastic, silly, and heartfelt all in the right proportions and it never fails to make me laugh.

Hercules
The first time I watched Hercules was in the kids club on a cruiseship and the scene with the cutting of the threads of life scarred me for years. When I finally watched it again (and realised that it’s really not as terrifying as 5 year old me thought it was) I fell in love with everything about it. The songs are catchy, the humour is as dry as a desert, and the Muses are the dream team.


So there you have it, 5 Disney movies you should watch which aren’t Frozen. I also want to give an honourable mention to Tangled, Brother Bear (which is so very underrated) and the Jungle Book. Get a cosy blanket, make yourself a cuppa, and watch a good movie. Take care of yourself x

 

Leave a Reply

