Netflix Originals (Part 1)

Netflix has a long list of advantages – there’s no ads, you can watch whatever you want whenever you wants, and now you can (finally) download shows and watch them offline. The only disadvantage; it allows me to indulge my procrastination by spending 90% of my time watching Netflix originals. Here’s a few of my favourite Netflix originals that I think you really should be watching

–  P.S This is all my real unpaid opinion, I have an audience of about 2 people, Netflix has an audience of about 75 million, don’t think they need to sponsor me to be honest. –

The Best Marvel Original – Luke Cage? Jessica Jones? Who knows, I’m indecisive.

I am a big marvel film fan and have recently started to read a couple of the comics so as soon as there’s a Marvel Netflix original, you know I’ll be watching it. I liked Daredevil but felt that the Fisk plotline was dragged on for way too long, and I didn’t really get into the whole ‘The Hand’ thing. Luke Cage however, was absolutely brilliant, with an incredibly talented cast, gripping plot and every so many shots that were masterpieces. I really can’t pick a favourite between Jessica Jones and Luke Cage, I loved both of them. Jessica Jones was dark, and you find yourself so invested in all of the characters. The one thing I’m sure of is that Claire Temple (Rosario Dawson) is incredible in all 3 shows.

Netflix Sensation – Stranger Things

If you’ve been on the internet in the last year then it’s highly unlikely that you haven’t heard about Stranger Things. Being born in 2000, I’m sure I missed most of the 80s references, but I love this show nonetheless. Not going to lie, it isn’t one of my can’t-live-without shows, but it was engaging, exciting and more than a little bit creepy. Please note though that if you watch this show and don’t love Barb, then I will judge you forever.

Best comedy – Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

There are a few really good Netflix comedy series (I enjoyed Master of None and loved Grace & Frankie) but my favourite has got to be Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. It’s uplifting, and funny and just a little bit silly. The main character is an eternal optimist who – whilst naive at times – always looks on the bright side. The show never gets gratingly cheerful though, because Kimmy’s bubbly personality is anchored back to earth by her more world-wise (but very eccentric) roommate and her perpetually ranting landlady.

Best Documentary – Chef’s Table

There is something so relaxing and beautiful about watching these chefs create some of the most ground-breaking meals in the world. The show perfectly balances biographies of incredibly talented chefs from all over the world with beautiful cinematography of their restaurants and signature dishes. I can’t say I’ve watched anywhere near all of the episodes but my favourite so far has got to be Season 2, Episode 1 – Grant Achatz.

Overall Favourite – Sense8

If you have Netflix then you need to be watching Sense8, a show with 8 different characters who are all telepathically linked. Now, you’ve got to stick with me here because I know some of you will read ‘telepathically linked’ and roll your eyes. What makes me love Sense8 so much is that every single character will be your favourite character. Unlike shows like Orange Is The New Black – where you have some characters whose stories you love and others where you could not care any less (Piper, I’m looking at you) – you want to know as much as you can about every single Sense8 character because they are all so incredibly well written. There was not a single moment where I thought, ‘Can we get back to someone else’s perspective now’ because each storyline is so cleverly crafted and each character so well rounded that they are all equally captivating. The only thing I’d say is do not start watching this show unless you have plenty of time to spare because once I started watching it, I couldn’t stop.

So there’s a little bit of a roundup of some of my favourite Netflix shows. Hope you’re all having a good start to 2017, and have time to treat yourself to something you enjoy, whether it be a good book, listening to some music or having a bit of a Netflix binge. Drink some water, cleanse your face, and eat your vegetables. Take care of yourself x

 

8 thoughts on “Netflix Originals (Part 1)

    1. I’ve mostly been reading Ms Marvel and am loving it. I’ve also read a tiny bit of deadpool and young avengers, but it’s something I’ve only recently gotten into so I’m still just getting my feet wet. If you’ve got any recommendations then let me know, I’d love to hear them πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The current volume of Doctor Strange has been brilliant and the spin off Doctor Strange and the Sorcerers Supreme is very promising. Astonishing Ant-man was also very enjoyable. I also highly recommend Matt Fraction’s Hawkeye run, it is superb (In my opinion). I’m not too fond but Champions might also be worth a look at. Sorry if that’s too many, I can get a little carried away.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

